The Prodigal Returns

In devotions the other day I was reading Jeremiah 31. This chapter is a prophecy full of joy and reconciliation. Because of their rebellion, God punished Israel, scattering them throughout the world. Many of the Israelites thought God had rejected them, but God hadn’t rejected Israel – no, He was simply waiting for them to return to Him.

As I read this chapter I was reminded of the parable of the prodigal son. In that parable, you see the son determined to go his own way and do his own thing and even take money from his Father. Although, what he was doing was wrong, the Father allowed him the free will to do it. The son left home and did life his way, throwing out all that he had received from his father. In the process of this, he became poor, broke, and rejected by all. That is, all but his father.joyful_kid

His father was at home the whole time waiting for him, ready to love him, forgive him, and accept him again. Finally, the son came home. His Father was so overjoye
d, they had a celebration! Imagine the relief and joy the son must have felt – he had been forgiven, no more was he alone but now reconciled to his Father!

This same picture is shown in Jeremiah 31. As you read this passage you feel both the relief Israel felt to be reconciled back to God and the joy of God to be with His people again. Examples of this are found in Jeremiah 31:13, 18,20, 34-35.

Then shall the young women rejoice in the dance,
and the young men and the old shall be merry.
I will turn their mourning into joy;
    I will comfort them, and give them gladness for sorrow. . . .

“I have heard Ephraim grieving,
‘You have disciplined me, and I was disciplined,
    like an untrained calf;
bring me back that I may be restored,
    for you are the Lord my God. . . .’

Is not Ephraim my dear son?
    Is he my darling child?
For as often as I speak against him,
    I do remember him still.
Therefore my heart yearns for him;
    I will surely have mercy on him,”
declares the Lord. . . .

“This is the covenant I will make with the people of Israel
    after that time,” declares the Lord.
“I will put my law in their minds
    and write it on their hearts.
I will be their God,
    and they will be my people. . . .

For I will forgive their wickedness
    and will remember their sins no more.”

What about you and me as Christians? God has reconciled us to Himself and these words that are spoken to Israel are as true for us. God has forgiven our wickedness and our sins are remembered no more! We don’t have to live with the pain of guilt, but as the prodigal who has returned, instead you and I can feel the release of the burden of our sin and guilt and live in joy.

Leave a Reply or a Little Note

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑